St. Paul Catholic Church - Anakapalli (1983)

st paul catholic church anakapalli
st paul catholic church anakapalli andhra pradesh
st paul catholic church anakapalli andhra pradesh

Name of the Church

St. Paul Catholic Church


St. Paul

Catholic Population





Anakapalli, Veduruparthy, Thegada, Jaggannapeta, Kasipalem, Kassimkota, Yerravaram, Nagavaram, Pedda Yathapalem, Narapadu, Mar tur, Koduru, Ch Aggraharam, Thanam, Ramapuram, Krishnapuram, BRT Colony, Kothuru, S Narayanapuram, Thottada, Munagapaka, Ompolu, Ummalada, Thumapala, Palam, Dharjinagar, Nallregudipalem, Venkatapuram, Thallapalem, Salapuvanipalem, Lalam Koduru.


Catholic Church, Poodimadaka Road, Opp. R T C Complex, Anakapalli - 531 001. Visakhapatnam Dist., A.P., India.

Phone No.


Mass Timings


Brief History

The Credit of Anakapalli becoming a parish entirely goes to Rev. Fr. K.E. Zecharias. There were only two catholics residing at Anakapalli. It was Fr. Zecharias who said mass for the first time in a private house at Anakapalli in 1948. Occasionally it was continued. He gave the first baptisms. Some of the people belonging to gavara community had their relations at Mangalapalem and Gnanapuram paved the way for them to Christianity. Mr. Joe Quinns offered a plot of land in 1963 at Kasimkota, Kothuru at the outskir ts of Anakapalli wherein a small church was built in 1970 and from then on mass was celebrated regularly every Sunday. Initially, it was under Madugula Mission. Anakapalli was erected as a new Parish on 2.10.1982 by Fr. K E Zecharias the Vicar Capitular. The present Parish Church, ground floor of the parish house and the compound wall were constructed in 1989. Later came the grotto and the first floor of the presbytery. Many new villages were brought to light of faith. With special devotions there is an increase of faith and in the number of faithful.

Institutions in the Parish

J M J Eng. Medium School

Convents in the Parish

J M J Convent

Priests who served in the Parish

  1. Rev. Fr. K. E. Zecharias msfs
  2. Rev. Fr. Mathew Nallanirappel
  3. Rev. Fr. Francis Chakuli
  4. Rev. Fr. Chacko Arayathinal
  5. Rev. Fr. Joy Mamalassery
  6. Rev. Fr. Joseph Anithottam
  7. Rev. Fr. John Kunnapalli
  8. Rev. Fr. Thomas Choorackal
  9. Rev. Fr. George Manianghatt
  10. Rev. Fr. A. Pushpanadam
  11. Rev. Fr. Varghese Chaparath
  12. Rev. Fr. Thomas Choorackal