St. Joseph Church - Bobbili


Name of the Church

St. Joseph Church


St. Joseph

Catholic Population





Alajangi, Karada, Jagnadhapuram, G S R Puram, Sivadavalasa, Mathaivalasa, Piridi, Boddavalsa, Gadelavalasa, Rangaraivaram, Vijaypuri, Kammavalasa, B Velagavalasa, T R Colony, Ittamunidipalli, A Velagavalasa


Catholic Church R C Mission BOBBILI - 535 558 Vizianagaram Dist.

Phone No.

08944 255670

Mass Timings


Brief History

The history of Bobbili Mission can be traced back to 1890 when the great missionary Fr. Peter Payroud bought a site and built a house at the Gollaveedhi of Bobbili. The actual evangelization was star ted by Fr. Solomon. It was he who evangelized the Rellies and bought a piece of land near Relli veedhi in 1927 and built a house, chapel and a school there. It is still the Headquar ters of Bobbili Mission. Bobbili became an independent mission station in 1929. Fr. L Mariadas was the first resident priest although Fr. Solomon was frequenting Bobbili from Parvathipuram. Many priests worked here later on, and the Bobbili Mission had a Marvellous growth, getting many villages to christianity under the able guidance of many spiritual missionaries. Seethanagaram which was made a separate parish but was again brought under Bobbili in 1950. Of late once again Seethanagaram was made a parish and given to T O R Fathers. The present Archbishop of Visakhapatnam had worked here as Parish Priest.

Institutions in the Parish

  1. R C M St Thomas High School, Bobbili
  2. R C M Ele School, Bobbili
  3. R C M Ele school, R C M Ele school

Convents in the Parish

  1. St. Joseph’s Convent
  2. St. Joseph’s Hospital
  3. Holy Spirit Sisters’ Convent
  4. Holy Spirit Sisters’ School

Priests who served in the Parish

  1. Rev. Fr. Peter Payroud msfs
  2. Rev. Fr. Solomon msfs
  3. Rev. Fr. L Mariadas msfs
  4. Rev. Fr. R Joseph msfs
  5. Rev. Fr. J Quibler msfs
  6. Rev. Fr. B Mariadas
  7. Rev. Fr. George Vayalil msfs
  8. Rev. Fr. R Saldhana
  9. Rev. Fr. Sebastian Puthuthundy msfs
  10. Rev. Fr. Joseph Meynet msfs
  11. Rev. Fr. Otto Reitmayer msfs
  12. Rev. Fr. J Grossfor t msfs
  13. Rev. Fr. Sebastian Poondikulam msfs
  14. Rev. Fr. E. Allioud msfs
  15. Rev. Fr. Jacob Puthiaparambil msfs
  16. Rev. Fr. Joseph Panjackal msfs
  17. Rev. Fr. Mathew Kudakacherry msfs
  18. Rev. Fr. Zecharias Ittiayapara
  19. Rev. Fr. George Manianghatt
  20. Rev. Fr. Mani Tharappel msfs
  21. Rev. Fr. Kagithapu Mariadas msfs
  22. Rev. Fr. George Edapady
  23. Rev. Fr. Betha Pushparao as asst.
  24. Rev. Fr. Mathew Karianatt msfs
  25. Rev. Fr. J. Kochuchirayil
  26. Rev. Fr. John Kunnapalli as asst
  27. Rev. Fr. Peter P
  28. Rev. Fr. M U Chacko msfs as asst
  29. Rev. Fr. Philip Parackal msfs as asst
  30. Rev. Fr. K Alaxander
  31. Rev. Fr. K Jacob
  32. Rev. Fr. John Kunnapalli
  33. Rev. Fr. Anthony Parayil
  34. Rev. Fr. Joseph Padanamackal msfs
  35. Rev. Fr. Thomas Elavunkal
  36. Rev. Fr. P Francis
  37. Rev. Fr. J Balashouri
  38. Rev. Fr. V V Prasad
  39. Rev. Fr. S Prathap as H M
  40. Rev. Fr. B. Joseph
  41. Rev. Fr. K. Anthayya
  42. Rev. Fr. Ravindra Kumar as H M