Infant Jesus Church - Seethammadhara


Name of the Church

Infant Jesus Church


Infant Jesus

Catholic Population





Venkogipalem (Quasi Parish)


Infant Jesus Church
Seethammadhara, Visakhapatnam -530013.

Phone No.

0891 - 2732538

Mass Timings


Brief History

It is one of the parishes erected in the year 1986 by His Grace Mariadas K, Archbishop of Visakhapatnam, as a sweet rememberence of the Visakhapatnam Diocesan Centinary (1886-1986). Initially, it was called SFS Parish and later it was renamed as Infant Jesus Parish. Fr. P D Varky was made the first parish priest. Not much could be done because he was in the school as correspondent of the SFS School. Mass and Prayers were being conducted in SFS School chapel as there was no church. Later a beautiful church construction was taken up by Fr Maipan Paul, the present bishop of Khammam. The construction was carried on and completed by the present parish priest Fr. Thomas Choorackal the present parish priest and was blessed on 14th January, 1998. Prior to this there was a church constructed by Fr. Maipan Paul which is now used as a community hall.

Owing to the sincere effor ts put by Frs. Mypan Paul and Thomas Choorackal the church is progressing and in the line of becoming a very good piligrim point. The perpetual Novena conducted in the Church on every Thursday is attended by the people of all faiths from every corner of the town and the diocese.The feast of Infant Jesus celebrated every year in the second week of January i.e., 14th January calls in thousands of people from all over the state. The belfry and the beautiful statue of Infant Jesus in the premises are added to the attraction of the Shrine Church. There are activities of different types viz., spiritual, social, and economic are taking place in the parish with the voluntary support of the parishners not only for the Catholics but also people of other faiths.

Institutions in the Parish

SFS School

Convents in the Parish

Nirmala Convent

Priests who served in the Parish

  1. Rev. Fr.P D Varkey msfs
  2. Rev. Fr. K V Joseph msfs
  3. Rev. Fr. Thomas Olickal msfs
  4. Rev. Fr. John VV
  5. Rev. Fr. Mypan Paul
  6. Rev. Fr. Rajasekhar as asst.
  7. Rev. Fr. Thomas Choorackal
  8. Rev. Fr. G Jaya Raj
  9. Rev. Fr. Joy Thomas
  10. Rev. Fr. V V Prasasd
  11. Rev. Fr. J Ananda Rao