Holy Cross Church - Gajuwaka

holy cross church gajuwaka visakhapatnam
front view of holy cross church gajuwaka visakhapatnam

Name of the Church

Holy Cross Church


Holy Cross

Catholic Population





Satyavanipalem, Narava.


Holy Cross Church Old Gajuwaka - 530 026 Visakhapatnam.

Phone No.

0891 - 2511022

Mass Timings


Brief History

The Catholics residing within the boundary of this parish had to go to Butchirajupalem or Malkapuram or to any other Church in the town areas for their Sunday obligation and Christian duties.

Initially Bishop Ignatius allowed Sunday Mass be said in the BHPV Township. Fr. Thomas Manalil offered there Mass for the first time on 9th December. Priests either from Bishop’s House or St. Ann’s Co-Cathedral were going every Sunday for Mass. When Fr. Devasia Nediakalayil became the Parish Priest of Butchirajupalem, took over the BHPV. When St. Aloysius ITI was opened at Autonagar, priests there began to offer Sunday Mass for the people around including BHPV Catholics. In 1991 a temporary shed was built in Gajuwaka near Panthulugari Meda for the people of Gajuwaka Parish. In 1998 the shed was extended since the municipality was not giving permission to build a bigger church. At last in May 1999 foundation stone for a bigger beautiful church was laid by His Lordship Rev. K Mariadas. The work is completed and a beautiful Church on way side of the National High Way was consecrated on 11th March 2001.

Institutions in the Parish

  1. St. Aloysius I T I , Autonagar
  2. S F S Eng. Medium School, Chinna Gantyada
  3. Visakha Vimala Vidhyalaya II, Pedda Gantyada
  4. St. Jude’s Eng. Med. School
  5. Gloria Eng. Medium School, Rajeev Nagar
  6. Nirmala Eng. Medium School, Vadlapudi
  7. Gloria Vidya Kendram

Convents in the Parish

  1. ASMI Convent.
  2. S A B C Convent, Gajuwaka
  3. Divya Jyothi Convent, Rajeev Nagar
  4. St. Lucy&#;s Convent

Priests who served in the Parish

  1. Rev. Fr. Anthony Puthussery
  2. Rev. Fr. Chacko Arayathinal
  3. Rev. Fr. Joseph Prabhakar
  4. Rev. Fr. Thomas Manalil msfs
  5. Rev. Fr. D V Prasad
  6. Rev. Fr. Thomas Pulickal